
UTAH DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN RESOURCE MANAGEMENT 
UNCOMPENSATED OVERTIME CLAIM FORM 
(For Employees in Non-exempt Positions Only) 

(Revised October 28, 2014) 

 
Employee Name _________________________ Employee EIN __________ 
 
Agency Name ___________________________ Unit ______________ 
 
 
What was your regular work schedule during the period(s) of uncompensated 
overtime you are claiming? 
 
 
 
Please briefly describe the duties/tasks you were performing during the period(s) 
of uncompensated overtime: 
 
 
 
Please identify the specific dates and times you worked overtime (as nearly as 
possible) for which you were not compensated: 
 
 
 
 
 

This form is used by State of Utah employees who desire to make a claim to be compensated 
for overtime hours for which they were required or permitted to work, over the past three 
years up to today’s date, but for which they were not compensated due to the work hours not 
being recorded on their previously submitted timesheets or electronic records (ESS).   
 
Under the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA), FLSA non-exempt employees may not “volunteer” 
their time; nor can they be required to work more than 40 hours per week (or, if law 
enforcement, overtime hours within their designated 7 or 28 day work period) without 
overtime compensation in the form of direct pay or compensatory time at the rate of time and 
one half.  If on one or more occasions you were not compensated for overtime in accordance 
with the FLSA during the past three years, we ask that you complete and submit this form to 
allow us to review and substantiate your claim. This form must be submitted with amended 
time sheets identifying your actual hours worked. Additional substantiating documentation 
may also be submitted.  This form does not apply to employees classified as FLSA exempt. 
For State of Utah rules regarding Overtime see DHRM Rule R477-8-4.  In the spaces provided 
below, please list specific information regarding your claim(s). 



Who was your supervisor(s) during the time you are claiming to have worked 
uncompensated overtime?  
 

 
Please identify any reason you have for not having previously recorded on your 
timesheets or electronic records (ESS) the overtime hours you are now claiming: 
 
 
 
 
What is the total number of previously uncompensated overtime hours you are 
now claiming?   
 
_________________________________________________________________ 
Claimant Certification: Please sign and submit this form, the amended 
timesheets, and other supporting documentation to your current supervisor for 
review.  Your supervisor will forward your claim to human resources for 
substantiation and payment. 
 
I (claimant) swear that the information on this claim form is true to the best of 
my knowledge, records, and recollection.  Additionally, apart from what I have 
indicated on this form, I have no further claims for compensation for overtime 
hours worked during the identified period.  I understand that intentionally 
providing false information will be considered falsification of official time records 
for which disciplinary action up to including termination may be taken. 
 
____________________________________   _____________ 
Claimant’s Signature       Date 
_________________________________________________________________ 
Department Review: 
 
____________________________ ________________  __________ 
Signature of Reviewing Supervisor  Title         Date 
 
Supervisor Comments (if any): 
 
 
 
____________________________ ________________  __________ 
Other Department Signature   Title         Date 
(if needed)  
 
Payment made by Payroll on: 

 


